Friday, 7 May 2010

Westcountry map turns (patchy) blue

The Tories have made some gains in Cornwall and Devon.
After a slow start last night, with the Lib Dems holding on in Torbay, Somerton & Frome and Taunton Deane, it began to look as if there would be little change to the Westcountry map.
The dozen Tory targets were looking unlikely. Since I went to bed though there has been a run of upsets:

Con Oliver Colvile took Plymouth Sutton and Devonport from Lab Linda Gilroy
Con Sarah Newton won Truro and Falmouth, beating Lib Dem Terrye Teverson
Lib Dem Julia Goldsworthy was narrowly defeated by Tory George Eustice
Lib Dem Karen Gillard was defeated by Con Sheryll Murray in South East Cornwall
And of course, earlier in the night Tory Anne Marie Morris ousted Lib Dem Richard Younger-Ross.

Steve Gilbert retained St Austell & Newquay for the Lib Dems, beating Caroline Righton
Lib Dem Dan Rogerson held North Cornwall
Lib Dem Nick Harvey held North Devon
Con Mel Stride won Central Devon

I will post all the detailed results later but it seems the background to the changes rests on a collapse in the Labour vote, halving in some seats.
In Somerset, the only change has been the Lib Dems taking Wells from Tory David Heathcoat-Amory.
St Ives in Cornwall is likely to remain Lib Dem while Torridge & West Devon is expected to stay Conservative. Counting in both seats doesn't start until 9am.

No comments:

Post a Comment